Crimson Crossing – Stories in Erotica

evangelicapress.com – Erotica Censorship

4 Comments

So, it finally hit me. WordPress is censoring my posts because they are of adult nature. They do not show up under any tag, regardless of how they are tagged, even Erotica. I’m being advised that i can write “about” Erotica, but not write erotica. That’s what the tag is for. See, I sort of don’t understand it very much. WordPress says it’s because there are underage members who need some protection. Then again, I ask why aren’t weapons a censored topic. You know, those actually kill people. So does alcohol but, hey, teens can read about that, it’s legal. Oh wait, Erotica isn’t illegal. Damn. I’m baffled. Oh, I know. Maybe it’s because I write about rape, bestiality, incest. I knew it! Crap, forget that. Anyone who’s read any of my posts knows I don’t use any sort of lewd language in my posts. Ok, Ok, I might use the world penis time and again, but the other “p” word, you know? the feminine one, yeah, that I don’t use.

I’m sad, disheartened, ashamed to have financially supported wordpress, and ashamed to have ever brought my clientél to WordPress who have also financially supported the company.

I can’t help but wonder if censorship is a trend that will further continue eventually preventing all sorts of freedom of speech.

I’m waiting to be told that wordpress is a private company, hence, their right to censor what they want. I suppose I’ll shut up then, tuck my tail between the legs and find another site that values a diverse population that abides by all legalities of the country they live in. Oh, I wonder if they censor hacking as well. Hm, interesting. We all know they type of problems that can bring about. Imagine if teens got a hold of hacking at wordpress.com, what would the boardmembers day then.

Then again, what better moral police than evangleicalpress.com? OMG! I wonder if they are censoring Sudafed? You know, that was taken off the shelves at the drug store then placed behind the counters away from kids.

At this moment I think I have sadly come to the end of my wordpress posts. Maybe tomorrow I’ll change my mind, who knows. 😦

To the readers who’ve come by to say Hello, read, like or not, I dearly thank you. It’s been a wonderful time. Keep up the wonderful work I’ve come to find at wordpress, while it might not be for me, it sure has a lot to offer for others.

Yeah, this one has not tags. I don’t show under wordpress searches any ways.

Author: jibarican

https://crimsoncrossing.wordpress.com

4 thoughts on “evangelicapress.com – Erotica Censorship

  1. Interestingly, I wrote (part) of something that managed to mostly avoid the in depth and in touch points of erotic literature but I intended to continue a story that did get quite “adult”. I hadn’t even thought that it might end up censored so now I’m wondering quite what to do. Maybe I’ll write it somewhere else and link it in to a post with warnings and disclaimers – presuming that is acceptable.
    Although, if you were willing, I’d like to see you continue to write your work as it is and wonder if WordPress will accommodate our genre too if there is enough support.

    Thanks for this entry – it’s helped me think about the topic a bit more.

    Will.

    • Hi Will. I’d go ahead and push on with your piece. It’s a difficult decision to make… either be free with your writing and have WordPress censor you, or limit yourself… I thought hard about giving up then thought that giving up was the easy road to take so, yeah. I’m going to continue writing, hopeful that WordPress treats “adult” content with a friendlier hand.

      Thank you for you comment,
      cheers 😀

  2. Hi Crimson, hope you don’t mind me adding my 2c worth here. The reason you are not appearing in the Reader anymore is most likely because your blog has been reported / marked as Mature. When that happens, nothing appears in the Global Reader. Any person reading or coming across your blog can do this (report it), and there is nothing we can do about it.

    I too had a blog with mature stuff on it (not anymore) but in my situation – whether because it was reported by a reader or whether it was simply “found” by WP – they suspended / deactivated my blog with no prior warning. I just logged in one morning and it was gone. I could still access my posts to move them if I wanted to, but the blog was no longer available to my followers.

    Other people I know, have had the same suspension applied to them – no notice, just gone. So in your case, I really think it is just a matter of someone having marked your blog as mature in content. The only way to pick up new followers or readers now, is to Like/comment on other blogs and ensure your gravatar has your blog address on it, so people can find your blog.

    Your post was very well put and there are many of us who are not happy with the situation but it seems our hands are tied.

    • Thank You so much for the feedback and advise. I was ready to toss my hands up and give up. I hadn’t realize the extent of the censorship. Perhaps the best course of action is to keep on writing and hope that in due time wordpress will include Erotica writers in their community. There are bloggers out there whose work is exceptional, they shouldn’t be shunned because of the topic used to display their creativity. I feel like I’m being prosecuted… :/

Leave a Reply

